Modelling scams
Model agency and model portfolio scams
Facilitator scam (in: blog)
About links and ads on this site
Other Sections
Latest updates and additional information
Contact the Models Guide with your question about modelling
On 16 June 2008 I was made aware that somebody claiming to represent "Wolf Kettler modelling in London" is contacting models with an offer of modelling work.
Aspiring models, who have posted their details on modelling sites, are contacted with an e-mail message, in which the writer claims to represent a photographer or model agency. In this example, me.
Various, usually English or American sounding, names are being used. E-mail addresses usually end in @yahoo.co.uk.
The matter has been reported to the police. The "offer" is not genuine and not connected to me in any way. It is a scam, in which my name is being used fraudulently. There is no company called "Wolf Kettler modelling".
If you receive a message from an email address that does not have the suffix@wolfkettler.co.uk, this person does not work for me, even if the postal address and website URL are the same as on this site.
The e-mails can be relatively easily spotted as a scam. Some of the give-aways are:
- Poor style of writing, spelling and grammar
- Offer too good to be true
- Strange financial arrangements
What to do if you have received an e-mail
* Do not respond to such messages.
* Do not give out any personal details.
* You may be asked to e-mail a CV, scan of photo ID, driving licence or similar documents. Do not send such information.
* Do not pay any money, even if you have already received a cheque.
* Contact me only if you receive a modelling offer from somebody claiming to represent me, or anything that uses my name, via the web form on my website. This is a secure method of speaking to me.
* Always follow the usual precautions before accepting any modelling work, joining an online modelling site or signing up with a modelling agency.
How it works
The scam is a so-called advance fee fraud. If a model falls for the scam, she is sent a cheque (often 15.500 Euros or Pound Sterling), asked to cash it into her own bank account and then transfer the money to a third party. The explanation is that the money is to cover expenses for the photo shoot, studio hire, etc.
The model is also told that she can keep 20% as her modelling fee. The term "wage" is used in the e-mail. The cheque bounces of course but the fraudsters hope that the transfer from the model has already been made by the time she finds out.
I am aware of one case, in which an aspiring model almost fell for the scam. She had already received the cheque. In this case, the cheque was for 7.000 Euros and the model was told that she could keep 3.000 Euros as her fee.
She was asked to send the balance by Western Union money transfer to a John Cameron, 12 Oxford Court, Manchester M2 3WQ, UK This is the address of Manchester law firm Draycott Browne, who are not considered involved but who have also been unresponsive when I contacted them.
Variations
During November 08, I was informed of a variation on this scam. It does not mention my name any longer. Instead, a very similar message to the one above begins with >>I represent a 'PREMIER modelling, in london ...<<
All other details are identical or very similar.
This is of course not connected to Premier Model Management, who have also posted a warning on their website.
Other modes of delivery
Although this is an e-mail scam, the same message has been found on discussion boards of modelling sites. I have contacted a number of sites. Most of them have been very helpful in removing the posts and blocking the poster's account.
Uncooperative Sites
Below is a list of sites, which have not been co-operative or which cannot be contacted.
Sites that do not remove suspicious content, do not agree to warn their members and visitors or that do not publish contact details should be treated with extreme care!
Showing a negligent attitude towards the safety or their visitors and members are:
No site contact details on website
-
http://www.praguenet.com/classifieds/Detailed/323.html
- http://supermodels.wordpress.com/international-fashion-models/
Unresponsive
- http://www.tagged.com
Tagged.com is considered by many to be a scam/phishing website, which masquerades as a social networking site.
See also:
Tagged.com Phishing Website
The Spam Diaries
Is tagged.com a phishing site?
Tagged.com Email Scam
E-mail addresses and names identified
Below is a list of e-mail addresses, names and other details that I know have been used. This list is certainly not complete. Anybody can give a false name and free e-mail accounts can be opened by anyone and do not require identification.
| toddwells454@yahoo.co.uk | Todd Wells |
| paul.russellsmith91@googlemail.com | Paul Russel |
| http://homactu.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=346 | |
| PAULINEASHEWO@YAHOO.COM | Pauline |
| http://www.praguenet.com/classifieds/Detailed/323.html | |
| JOHN CAMERON | 12 Oxford Ct., Manchester M2 3WQ, UK |
| richardclark40@yahoo.com | Richard Clark |
| jro_456@yahoo.co.uk | Jacob Robertson |
| okirimail@yahoo.co.uk | Robert Pickstone |
| modelsfine@yahoo.com | Richard Clark |
| http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1408701178 | |
| dwill_0006@yahoo.co.uk | darrow williamson |
| chasegarry@yahoo.co.uk | Garry Chase |
| http://supermodels.wordpress.com/international-fashion-models/ | |
| Robert Chavez | robert_chavez06@yahoo.com |
| moris_naomi1970@yahoo.com | Moris Naomi |
| moristnaomi@gmail.com | Moris Naomi |
Reported 5 March 09:
Messages circulated on tagged:
Subject: Hello, I represent WOLF KETTLER...
Message: Hello, I represent WOLF KETTLER AGENCY in London, we came across your profile on a modelling website and we have selected one of your pictures from your portfolio for Billboard advertisement. All we need is your approval, to enable us process your payment, absolutely no commission, no overhead costs, you just get payed for your pictures right away. Email your replies to moris_naomi1970@yahoo.com
The tagged ID used may or may not be the person responsible for the scam and is no longer active.
Reported 9 June 09:
The by now well-known modelling scam targets users of vivala.de, a German modelling site. Name used in this instance was Jacob Robertson (jro_456@yahoo.co.uk), for a catalogue fashion shoot. My name is not used in this e-mail.